fbpx
21 May 2020 French Deal

QUEEN ABLA POKOU

Born in the early 18th century, Abla Pokou is the niece of King Ossei Tutu, founder of the Ashanti Confederacy of Ghana. Upon the death of her uncle, a fratricidal war broke out in the country for her succession to the throne. Abla Pokou feels in danger and flees with her family, her servants and her loyal soldiers.

Legend has it that she and her people find themselves blocked by the majestic river Comoé. The queen then asked the river spirit how she could pass and save her people to get to the other bank. The spirit of the river demanded the sacrifice of the people’s dearest treasure. Abla Pokou and her followers then understood that only the sacrifice of a child would allow them to pass.

Queen Abla Pokou then sacrificed her only child for the survival of her people and they succeeded in crossing La Comoé. After the crossing, the queen turned around and said “Bâ wouli” which means “the child is dead” and will give the name to her people, the Baoulé people.

French Deal pays homage in its creations to the Baule people and to Queen Abla Pokou who, through her act of bravery, managed to save her people and offer them a better life.
The Queen Pokou jacket, made entirely of traditional Baoule loincloth, is a tribute to the Baoule ethnic group and its history.

Shop Queen Pokou here.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

fbpx
21 mai 2020 French Deal

LA REINE ABLA POKOU

Née au début du XVIIIe siècle, Abla Pokou est la nièce du roi Osseï Tutu, fondateur de la confédération Ashanti du Ghana. À la mort de son oncle, une guerre fratricide éclate au pays pour sa succession au trône. Abla Pokou se sentant en danger s’enfuit avec sa famille, ses serviteurs ainsi que ses soldats fidèles.

Selon la légende, son peuple et elle se retrouvent bloqués par le majestueux fleuve de La Comoé. La reine demanda alors à l’esprit de la rivière, quel était le moyen de passer et de sauver son peuple pour se rendre sur l’autre rive. L’esprit de la rivière exigea alors le sacrifice de ce que le peuple a de plus cher. Abla Pokou et ses fidèles comprennent alors que seul le sacrifice d’un enfant pourront leur permettre de passer.

La Reine Abla Pokou sacrifia alors son enfant unique pour la survie de son peuple et ils réussissent à traverser La Comoé. Après la traversée, la reine se retourna et dit “Bâ wouli” qui signifie “l’enfant est mort” et qui donnera le nom à son peuple, le peuple Baoulé.

French Deal rend hommage dans ses créations au peuple Baoulé et à la Reine Abla Pokou qui par son acte de bravoure, est parvenue à sauver les siens et à leur offrir une vie meilleure.
La veste Queen Pokou, entièrement réalisée en pagne traditionnel Baoulé est un hommage à l’ethnie Baoulé et à son histoire.

Achetez Queen Pokou ici.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,