Founders

OUSMANE DABO
STEEVEN KODJIA
IAN MAHINMI
STEEVEN KODJIA
Behind the brand French Deal, there is a man: Steeven Kodjia. Son of Ivorian parents, he was born in 1980, in the suburbs of Paris. As a small child, he observes the grown-ups of his neighborhood dancing in his entrance hall building in Le Bourget. Various influences surround him and transport him, such as his father’s strong and elegant style, his mother and aunts flamboyant colored garments and the powerful creativity of these new dancers. He will take it all in and learn from them. This dance, he discovers then, is hip-hop; and he will make it his own. We are in the middle of the 80’s, hip-hop gives a voice to those who stayed too long in the shade and offers this little boy full of ambition the will to go beyond himself and to see past the limits of his own neighborhood. This is also the infancy of a feeling of belonging that will never leave him.
From hip-hop dancing, this self-made man will draw on two major characteristics, strength and creativity, in order to help him follow a path outside the overrun grounds. It will also teach him precision and perseverance, values he still holds on to with great fervor.

On the eve of the years 2000, Steeven Kodjia, now a professional dancer, knows his ambition must take him further. Thanks to his boldness, at only 22 he will decide to head off to the United States. Another discovery that will be a life-changer. This nation where all dreams come true, will give him the key to access the world of fashion. With hip-hop clothing, business “deals” are made on the streets. This competitive, and at the same time free-spirited atmosphere will remind him of the neighborhoods of his childhood.
French Deal is created from the idea of a bridge between Paris and New York, from this unconventional way of making fashion business, on the streets. With Steeven, instinct leads the way. One must sniff out unique fashion pieces, anticipate future trends in order to satisfy more and more customers. Just like he did when he started dancing, he will take his first steps into the world of fashion on the streets.
As little by little, hip-hop fashion started to change in form and approach, Steeven felt it was time to stop selling other people’s clothes and to move on. His own vision of fashion is yet to be created. Influences from his origins and his own story will help him embody this vision. This professional dancer and entrepreneur will take up this new adventure to become a fashion designer using all of his savings, his unique sense of style and, perhaps a hint of craziness! This novice, owing to his sense of determination, will learn all the aspects of a job he wasn’t predestined for. Yet, from dancing to fashion designing there is only a step, thanks to both sharing a common art, revealed through the expression of body-language. As a former dancer he understands it and will take that step with enthusiasm. Without consideration for the consequences, he will learn from his mistakes and will grow with passion within this challenging new business.

OUSMANE DABO
Born in Laval on February 8th, 1977, Ousmane Dabo is a professional football player who evolved in midfield position between 1995 and 2011.
In France, Italy and England, Ousmane has managed to distinguish himself when playing for world renowned clubs like Monaco, Inter Milan, Lazio Rome and Manchester City.
Trained by the Stade Levallois, the French midfield made his debut in the French national league with the “Stade Rennais” where he stood out as a true leader.

His performance on the field led him to be recruited by the prestigious Italian club Inter Milan in 1998. Transferred to Atalanta Bergamasca Calcio in 2001, he established himself as an indisputable holder. After 3 years defending the colors of the Atalanta team, he joined Lazio, his club of heart. He then played for Manchester City before finishing his football career in the United States.

Ousmane’s 10-year career in Italy has shaped his vision of fashion. It is notably in Milan, a city known worldwide for its creators and luxury brands, that he discovered noble and precious materials and the art of combining colors.

« I found this attention to detail in Steeven’s frst collections.
French Deal represents what I look for in fashion and streetwear: hip hop-inspired pieces combining quality fabrics with original cuts.
I collaborate on the development of the collections by sharing ideas inspired by my trips around the world, especially to New York, London and Milan, my favorite cities. »

IAN MAHINMI
Born in Rouen from a Beninese father and a Jamaican mother on the 5th of November 1986, Ian Mahinmi is a French professional basketball player, center for the NBA team, the Washington Wizards.When he first started, playing with the team from Le Havre, Ian Mahinmi is unknown from the public, but his talent will be recognized by the San Antonio team, the Spurs, when attending a NBA Draft.

Ian is only 19 years old, the Spurs, in order to have him continue his training in Europe, will make an agreement with his actual club so that he stays on 2 more seasons. He joins the Elan Bearnais team from Pau-Orthez in 2006 for one season before signing with the San Antonio Spurs the 23rd of August 2007. In 2010, he will then be transferred to the Dallas team, the Mavericks, where his energy will be praised by his team mates and staff members.

He will play one of the greatest game of his career against the Golden State Warriors in December 2010 with 12 points, 10 rebounds and 1 blocked shot. He then becomes the 2ndFrench player to be consecrated “champion” by the NBA.The 13th of October 2011, Ian will sign again with his initial club during the lock-out period, in-between seasons, before joining the Pacers from Indiana in 2012.
At the end the season 2015-2016, several NBA teams, convinced by his talent, will come looking for him. He will choose to join the Washington Wizards and will sign with them for 4 years.

« Hip hop, streetwear fashion and sports have been with me forever. These cultures are in constant synergy and influence one another.

Today, even as a professional NBA basketball player and member of the Equipe de France, I always keep an eye out for new designers and, am always on the lookout for unusual items. I love bold combinations, my taste is anything but conventional.

The instinctive take on fashion I share with my associates is what enables our creative expression. Joining the French Deal label was a natural choice. »

Les Fondateurs

OUSMANE DABO
STEEVEN KODJIA
IAN MAHINMI
STEEVEN KODJIA
À l’origine de French Deal, il y a un homme : Steeven Kodjia. Il est né en 1980, dans la banlieue parisienne, de parents ivoiriens. Tout petit déjà, il observe « les grands » de son quartier danser dans le hall de son immeuble du Bourget. Il se nourrit d’influences qui l’entourent et le traversent, entre autres, de l’élégance masculine de son père, des couleurs chatoyantes portées par sa mère et ses tantes et de la puissance créative de ces nouveaux danseurs. Cette danse qu’il découvre alors : c’est le hip-hop, et Steeven Kodjia va la faire sienne. Nous sommes au milieu des années 80, le hip hop donne la parole à ceux qui sont restés trop longtemps dans l’ombre et offre à ce petit garçon plein d’ambition, l’impulsion de se dépasser et de regarder au-delà des limites de son quartier. C’est aussi pour lui les premiers balbutiements d’un sentiment d’appartenance qui ne le quittera plus.
Cet autodidacte va puiser dans le hip-hop force et créativité, atouts majeurs qui lui permettront de suivre ce parcours hors des sentiers battus. Il fera aussi l’apprentissage de la précision et de la persévérance, valeurs qu’il porte encore aujourd’hui avec ferveur.

À l’orée des années 2000, devenu danseur professionnel, Steeven Kodjia sait pourtant que son ambition l’appelle ailleurs. Avec l’audace qui le caractérise déjà, il s’envole à seulement 22 ans pour les États-Unis. Seconde grande rencontre de sa vie, cette nation de tous les possibles va lui ouvrir les portes de la mode. Les vêtements hip-hop se négocient et se « deal» dans la rue. Steeven retrouve alors l’atmosphère émulatrice et libre des quartiers de son enfance.
French Deal naît de ce pont entre Paris et New York, de cette manière anti-conventionnelle d’aller chercher la mode, dans la rue. Avec Steeven, c’est l’instinct qui prévaut. Il faut flairer les bonnes pièces, anticiper les tendances et surtout satisfaire des clients toujours plus nombreux. Comme pour la danse, ses premiers pas dans la mode se feront dans les rues d’une ville.
Lorsque petit à petit la mode hip-hop se transforme tant dans les formes que dans l’approche, Steeven Kodjia sent qu’il est temps de prendre son envol et de cesser de vendre les vêtements des autres. Sa mode, il le sait, n’existe pas encore. La sienne sera l’empreinte d’une multitude d’influences, propre à ses origines et à son parcours. Le danseur entrepreneur se lance alors dans l’aventure de créateur de mode avec la totalité de ses économies, l’envie d’exprimer sa vision du vêtement et un soupçon de folie. Ce néophyte va, à la force de sa volonté, apprendre les différents aspects d’un métier auquel rien ne le prédestinait. Pourtant, de la danse, art du corps par excellence, au vêtement, il n’y a qu’un pas… qu’il va franchir allègrement. Ignorant les obstacles, il fera de ses erreurs des forces et apprendra avec passion les subtilités d’un monde exigeant et codifié.

OUSMANE DABO
Né à Laval le 8 février 1977, Ousmane Dabo est un footballeur français ayant évolué au poste de milieu de terrain entre 1995 et 2011.
Passant par la France, l’Italie ou encore l’Angleterre, Ousmane s’est distingué dans les clubs de renommés mondiales comme l’As Monaco, l’Inter de Milan, la Lazio de Rome ou encore Manchester City.
Formé au Stade Lavallois, le milieu de terrain Français a effectué ses débuts en championnat de France avec le Stade rennais où il s’est vite distingué comme un véritable meneur.

Sa performance sur les terrains lui a valu d’être recruté par le prestigieux club italien de l’Inter de Milan en 1998. Il est transféré à Atalanta Bergamasca Calcio en 2001 où il s’impose comme un titulaire indiscutable. Après 3 ans sous les couleurs des bleus et noirs, il rejoint la Lazio, son club de cœur. Il jouera ensuite pour Manchester City, retournera chez les « biancocelesti » avant de finir sa carrière footballistique aux Etats-Unis.

C’est à Milan, ville mondialement connue pour ses créateurs et ses marques de luxe, qu’il découvre des matières nobles et précieuses ainsi que l’art d’associer les couleurs. Ses 10 ans de carrière en Italie lui ont ainsi façonné sa vision actuelle de la mode.

« Ce sens du détail, je le retrouve dans les premières collections de Steeven.
French Deal représente ce que je recherche dans la mode et le streetwear : des pièces inspirées de la culture Hip-hop, alliant des matières de qualité et des coupes inédites. Depuis, je participe à l’élaboration des collections en partageant mes inspirations glanées lors de mes voyages autour du monde, tout particulièrement à New York, Londres et Milan, mes villes préférées. »

IAN MAHINMI
Né d’un père d’origine béninois et d’une mère d’origine jamaïcaine le 5 Novembre 1986 à Rouen, Ian Mahinmi est un basketteur professionnel français évoluant actuellement en tant que pivot dans l’équipe de NBA des Washington Wizards. Lors de ses débuts, alors joueur du Havre, Ian Mahinmi est méconnu du grand public américain mais son talent lui permet de se fait connaître auprès des Spurs de San Antonio à la Draft NBA.

Ian a alors seulement 19 ans, les Spurs, désireux de le voir poursuivre son apprentissage en Europe, se mettent d’accord avec son club formateur pour que celui-ci le conserve dans son effectif deux saisons supplémentaires. Il rejoint l’Élan béarnais de Pau-Orthez en 2006 pour une saison avant de signer avec les Spurs de San Antonio le 23 Aout 2007. Il est transféré vers les Mavericks de Dallas en 2010 où son énergie est saluée par le staff et ses coéquipiers à chacun de ses matchs.

Il y réalisera l’un des meilleurs matchs de sa carrière contre les Golden State Warriors en décembre 2010 avec 12 points, 10 rebonds et 1 contre, et devient le deuxième Français sacré champion de la NBA.
Le 13 octobre 2011, Ian se réengage avec son club formateur pendant la durée du lock-out de l’intersaison avant de rejoindre les Pacers de l’Indiana en 2012. À la fin de la saison 2015-2016, conquises par son talent, Mahinmi est sollicité par de nombreuses équipes de la NBA. Il portera finalement son choix sur les Washington Wizards où il signera pour 4 ans.

« Le hip-hop, la mode streetwear et le sport m’accompagnent depuis mon plus jeune âge. Ce sont des milieux qui sont en constante synergie et qui s’influencent les uns les autres.

Aujourd’hui, même en tant que basketteur professionnel en NBA et en Equipe de France, j’ai toujours un œil sur les nouveaux créateurs, je suis toujours à la recherche de pièces rares. J’aime les mélanges audacieux, mon style est tout sauf conventionnel.

C’est cette vision instinctive de la mode que je partage avec mes associés, elle nous permet d’exprimer notre créativité. Rejoindre la marque française French Deal était donc une évidence. »