La Maison

French Deal was created with the idea of combining the hip-hop culture with the love of fashion and luxurious garments. More than just a brand, French Deal manages to assemble three different cultures. Urban spirit, black culture and noble fabrics will mix with hip-hop, graceful African silhouettes and classic European tailoring.

It is primarily a question of origins. This new fashion house offers its customers beautiful fabrics, unique craftsmanship, and a feeling of belonging.

French Deal defines itself as an elegant “difference”, a way of putting together three very different cultures and using fashion in order to send a message. “Being true to oneself, without compromise”. We are talking about success, yes indeed, but only by the sweat of his brow. We are talking about luxurious garments, yes indeed, but only made from unique ancestral craftsmanship.

Steeven shares his origins with the “Baoulé” people, ethnic group from the Ivory Coast. In 2018, he discovers the particular fabric they use and will make it the heart of his new collection, Volume 4.

This material, synonym with elegance and celebration, reminds him of his mother and his aunts. Steeven KODJIA has made of this material the identifying characteristic of his collection which allows him to expose this ancestral craftsmanship, refined, authentic and not well-known. Not only a multi-cultural explosion, this is a true marriage of cultures. For his new collection, contemporary garments will mix with street-wear cuts, refined tailoring and traditional woven fabrics.

Returning to his origins, it is from the streets of Abidjan his new collection will take form. The loincloth is wrapped around arms and chests in sharp and intense colors, a wink at Steeven’s love for African’s ornaments. Naturally and elegantly, history will make its way through this collection, offering a new idea of a man’s wardrobe, an “Urban Dandy” wardrobe. Men will embody a new vision of masculinity, fierce, unique and timeless.

les fondateurs

The Baouli Loincloth

Originally from Côte d’Ivoire, Baoulé loincloth is a traditional fabric inherited from the Ashanti kingdom.

Authentic African textile culture, the weaving of the Baoulé loincloth is meticulously carried out by weavers, with warp threads dyed with indigo.

For Volume 4, French Deal has decided to reinvent the traditional loincloth by integrating it into an urban and modern cloakroom. It comes to life on timeless pieces that blend with both African and French cultures.

Notre histoire

La Maison

French Deal est ainsi née de la rencontre entre la culture du hip hop et l’amour de la mode et du luxe. Plus qu’une marque, French Deal est la marque d’un homme qui fait le lien entre trois cultures. Esprit urbain, black culture et matières nobles se mêlent au hip-hop, à l’élégance corporelle africaine et à la tradition classique du vestiaire masculin occidental.

Chez French Deal tout est affaire de racines. De belles matières, des savoir-faire rares et une histoire, voilà ce qu’offre la maison French Deal.

French Deal se vit comme une revanche élégante, un moyen de mettre en accord trois cultures qui constituent Steeven KODJIA et le poussent aujourd’hui à faire de la mode le support de son discours. L’authenticité est ici sans compromis. On parle de réussite, oui, mais à la force du poignet. On raconte la richesse des objets, oui, mais avec la valeur d’un travail ancestral d’exception.

De par sa filiation au peuple Baoulé, Steeven redécouvre en 2018 le tissu caractéristique de cette culture et décide d’en faire le cœur de sa nouvelle collection : Volume IV. Cette étoffe, synonyme de fête et d’élégance, lui évoque ses tantes et bien sûr sa mère. Il en fait la touche caractéristique de sa collection et permet alors de mettre en avant un savoir-faire artisanal ancestral raffiné, authentique et peu connu. Plus qu’un choc des cultures, c’est un véritable mariage des genres. Il réalise pour ce quatrième opus, des pièces contemporaines où se mêlent coupes street, tailoring raffiné et tissage traditionnel.

Pour ce retour aux sources, c’est dans les rues d’ABIDJAN que prend vie l’image de cette nouvelle collection. Brutes, intenses, les couleurs des pagnes traditionnels habillent les bras et les torses, clin d’œil actualisé à un amour et un savoir-faire de la parure africaine. Par touches, c’est l’histoire d’une culture qui affleure et se fond avec naturel dans un vestiaire nouveau, un vestiaire « URBAN DANDY ». Se dessine alors une masculinité nouvelle, fière, originale et atemporelle.

les fondateurs

Le pagne baouli

Originaire de Côte d’Ivoire, le pagne Baoulé est un tissu traditionnel hérité du royaume Ashanti.

Culture textile africaine authentique, le tissage du pagne Baoulé est réalisé minutieusement par des artisans tisserands, avec des fils de chaîne teints à l’indigo.

Pour Volume 4, French Deal a décidé de réinventer le pagne traditionnel en l’intégrant dans un vestiaire urbain et moderne. Il prend vie sur des pièces intemporelles se mariant à la fois aux cultures africaines et françaises.

Notre histoire